Sunday Skies: The Eclipse

Of course how could I not focus on the eclipse!  I remember the the total eclipse from 1999. Sadly I didn’t get a good look at it as the cloud coverage was too thick. But I remember standing in the garden and watching the sky go very,  very dark,  the birds chattering away and roosting and we even had hedgehogs coming out (which I thought was very bizarre). I vividly remember the drastic drop in temperature. And I kept running inside to see the footage of it on the TV.

This time I was luckier and best of all I got to experience it with Biker Dude. The cloud coverage was perfect as it acted like a natural filter. Because we didn’t have anything to view it through we were careful not to spend too much time looking at it. I managed to get a few decent shots with the Canon.

image

image

image

image

image

We even spotted this plane doing several circular routes as it was reaching maximum coverage.

image

image

I hope you managed to see it!

PS on the evening I was using Google sky map and spotted this wonderful alignment!

image

Copyright ©2015 All rights reserved. These photographs and article may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

