Interstellar, The Cooper Station and Rama

As always I’m behind on films, but last night I watched Interstellar. I really didn’t know what to make of it.  The science behind it was based on the work of theoretical physicist Kip Thorne. The science was fascinating. However that’s not the problem I had with it.

Without giving spoilers away,  the “influences” from the works of Arthur C Clarke were blatant. In fact I’d go as far as to say the film wasn’t influenced by but was a rehash of 2001, 3001, Rendezvous With Rama and Garden of Rama. And this is my problem.

Arthur C Clarke is a legend  in the science fiction pantheon. Not only for imagination but the scientific principles in the novels. I have a major complaint and issue with the fact that the movie industry is prepared to film rehashes but not prepared to film the actual books. 

image

image

image

image

image

image

The Cooper Station is a direct placement of Rama (which in turn was influenced by “Bernal Spheres”, devised by scientist John Desmond Bernal in the 1920’s).

For years I’ve wanted someone to make the Rama Trilogy into films and the sight of the Cooper Station excited me to the possibility of Rama being done well. All it needs is it to be created by someone with the passion for the books.

Instead of using Clarke as an influence,  why aren’t his books being dramatised?  I can’t help but think producers are missing out on a huge potential here.

