Poppi pt 1

On the 30th April, my parents had to make the heart breaking decision to end the pain and suffering of their beautiful little Westie, Poppi, after being diagnosed with a rare form of cancer. She had been in our lives for over 12 years and had brought so much joy, love and happiness into our lives.

She was affectionate, loving, funny, and loved nothing better than to be with people. She also had a thing about ears. At every possible opportunity she used to bury her nose into your ears and sniff, lick and nibble at them.

She loved cuddles, walks, chocolate drops, peanut butter on toast, eggs, and herding everyone together until they were all sitting in the same room. If she wanted to be outside, you used to say “go and bark at something” and she would. The squirrels and birds in the garden used to drive her nuts.

I’ve had many pets and have been upset when they’ve died, but my emotions haven’t come anywhere close to what they are with the passing of this little dog. My parents received her ashes yesterday and they’re giving me a small sachet of them. I’ll put them in a small bottle or box and I’ll cherish them forever.

I had never lived with her, but I felt like she was my own. And I don’t think her death has fully hit me yet.

“Grief is the last act of love we have to give to those we love. Where there is deep grief, there is great love.”

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Copyright ©2015 All rights reserved. These photographs may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

