I’ve Just Finished Reading: Harvest Home by Thomas Tryon

image

This book was mentioned in A Witche’s Bible (which I’m dipping into every so often). It was described as terrifying which,  (being a horror fan) sparked my immediate curiosity. I was lucky enough to get a copy for 1p from Amazon (£2.80 p+p).

It came last Saturday and I started it. By the end of the first chapter, I was hooked and by the following day,  I’d finished it.  And then wanted to re read immediately. I’m just astounded that I’ve never heard of this book and I’m so pleased I’ve read it. It’s one of those books that makes you dismayed at thought of not having it in your life.

Written in 1973, It’s about a man moving his family to Cornwall Coombe in New England.  A sleepy little hamlet steeped in tradition and respect of the “old ways”.  It starts charmingly enough but very quickly you get the feel and sense of something more sinister going on,  but the reveal happens slowly page by page.

Although it heavily shares the same themes as The Wicker Man (it was written in or around the same time Wicker Man was filmed) it’s not detrimental to the story and actually improves upon the themes portrayed in The Wicker Man. In my opinion, the novel manages to be  scarier and more disturbing. It was also  adapted into a mini series in 1978 which I’m eager to see.

Definitely a recommended read.

amazon.co.uk link

Copyright ©2015 All rights reserved. This photograph and article may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

