Baking: Red Velvet Cupcakes

image

Yep,  a cake mix. A lot of people wonder if these are any good. I say this one is. Red velvet is a beautiful cake but for me personally,  it’s very faffy to make. I’m not one for doing cooking the quick,  ready made style. But every now and again (and it really doesn’t happen that often), I find something that works so well I’ll go for that option. In the case of Red Velvet,  it’s Betty Crocker cake mix.

image

When it’s mixed up,  the colour isn’t exactly a deep red and when it’s cooked,  it’s like a reddy brown.

image

So I use some of this to enhance the colour.

image

image

I get 18 cupcakes out of one pack of mix (for £2.25). Not too shabby.

image

image

I used cream cheese icing (frosting) decorated with sliced strawberries (which as you can see from my fingers,  we’re VERY juicy).

I’d apologise for not giving you the actual bake-from-scratch recipe,  but I’m not really sorry!  These are more than good enough for me 😉

Copyright ©2015 All rights reserved. This photograph may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

