Baking: Bakewell Tart

For years I’ve had several “culinary ambitions”. Lemon meringue pie,  cheese sauce from a roux, pastry, a joint of roast beef, roasting a chicken, roast potatoes, the perfect Yorkshire pudding and Bakewell Tart.

I’ve succeeded with the lemon meringue pie,  a roast chicken, cheese sauce, and even pastry.  I’m still working on Yorkshire puddings, I’ve not attempted a joint of beef or roast potatoes but I can cross Bakewell Tart off the list now.

For years,  it’s been one of my favourite cakes and I’ve always wanted to attempt it, but have been too intimidated. So when I came across a recipe I resolved to try it.

I ended up modifying the ingredients and cooking method (eg blind baking the pastry for 25 mins on GM 6 was never going to happen) but this ended up being a perfect Bakewell. It had the right consistency and taste.  I don’t mind admitting that I did a victory dance in the kitchen 🙂

Ingredients
1 ball of sweet pastry dough
160g butter/baking spread
170g caster sugar
125g self raising flour
120g ground almonds
3 eggs
1 tsp baking powder
3 dessert spoons of jam
2tsp almond extract
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
4 tbsp icing sugar
2 tbsp water

22-24 cm tart tin
Preheat oven to GM 6

image

Roll out pastry to a thickness of around 5mm and lay over tin. Very gently press in the pastry and trim off excess pastry. 

image

(I wrapped the excess pastry in cling film,  put it in the fridge and then later used it to make jam tarts –  there was enough to make 12)

image

Get some baking parchment and crumple up in a ball then place it over the pastry lined tart. Pour in baking beans (I use rice from a cheap bag of the stuff).  Bake for 15 mins.

image

Remove rice/beans and then bake for another 5-7mins to finish drying out the base. Allow to cool.

image

Meanwhile,  cream together the butter and sugar using a wooden spoon. Then beat in the eggs. Add the almond and vanilla extracts then the ground almonds. Mix the baking powder and flour together and mix all together.

image

Spread the jam onto the base of the pastry case. (I used some of my mum’s delicious homemade blackberry jam).

image

Add the mix and spread evenly. Bake for approximately 30-40 mins (check after 30). It should feel firm to the touch with a light spring. Poke a skewer in and if it comes out clean then it’s done.

image

It may look huge but don’t worry,  it sinks when cool.

image

Once cooled mix together the icing sugar and water to form a thick paste.  Spoon into a small freezer bag,  snip off one tiny corner and drizzle onto the tart.  Allow to set.

image

Enjoy with a cuppa!

Copyright ©2015 All rights reserved. These photographs and writing may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold, claimed or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

