Crafty Project: Drawstring bag

I’ve already made a drawstring bag but I needed another one!  I adore making these as they’re so simple and quick to make (this one took around 15-20 mins and that included the time it took to answer 2 emails and get a coffee). I love that it’s not just something “pretty”, it has an actual purpose. Drawstring bags are definitely one of my favourites.

This time around I needed a bag for a set of Rider Waite tarot cards I got recently. The box they came in didn’t seem sturdy enough and there was a risk of the lid damaging the cards when closing it.

image

Start off with a piece of material (I used felt). If you want to decorate the bag,  I recommend you do it before sewing it together. Lay your cards (in the box) on the material and pin it in place (I didn’t measure anything as it’s only going to be used to keep the cards tidy,  a quick knock up job was all that was needed). Then using matching thread, sew along the pins.

Be sure to leave at least an inch or so unsewn at one side at the opening. This is where the ribbon will come out.

image

Turn the bag the right way out and lay a piece of ribbon around the “neck” of the bag. Sew a couple of small stitches on the direct opposite side to where the ribbons will tie.

image

Then, to hold the ribbon in place at the opening, place a couple of long stitches around the ribbon. Make sure you don’t stitch the ribbon  itself as it won’t then tighten.

image

Fold over the material to cover the ribbon. (I left quite a bit as that was the style I wanted).

image

Happy stitching.

Copyright ©2015 All rights reserved. These photographs and article may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold, claimed or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

