Exploring: Highlight Lighthouse

Ever since I heard about this and was shown the Google Street view image I’ve been extremely intrigued. Last week I decided to make a special trip out to Blyth just for the purpose of seeing it with my own eyes. How pleased I was. It was definitely worth taking the time out and making the trip over to see it.

Standing at 61.5 feet tall, Highlight Lighthouse is one of (if not the) oldest structure in Blyth and was built in 1788 and was extended in 1888 and again in 1900. The C18 part has a stone staircase and higher up are ladders. It was listed as grade 2 in 1950 and deactivated in July 1985, just short of 200 years in service.

When it was first built, it stood on the shoreline. But due to land reclamation it now sits a fair distance away! 

image

Google Earth View.

As you can see,  it shows a lighthouse sitting in a back lane/alley. This is what made me obsessed with seeing it for myself.

image

And in this shot, you can see the distance now between the lighthouse and the shoreline.

But anyway,  on with the photos. I got a bit snap happy as you can imagine, but I’ve picked some of my favourite images.

image

image

image

As you can see, this is the only door to access it. It’s actually attached to number 8 Bath Lane (the house is fittingly called Harbour House). I have no idea if the owners of the house own it, let alone have access to it. I’d love to see inside it sometime.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I do hope you have enjoyed these photos. If you’re ever in Northumberland in the Blyth area,  take a trip out to see it,  it’s truly bizarre 🙂

Copyright ©2015 All rights reserved. These photographs and article may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold, claimed or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

One response to “Exploring: Highlight Lighthouse

Comments are closed.