Cooking: Hummus

I’ll be honest, I’ve never been a fan of this stuff until a couple of years ago when I decided to give it another go. From then on I’ve been addicted. I’ve tried making it before but the chick peas I used weren’t a good quality. I prefer using a decent brand such as Napolini rather than a supermarket’s own brand.

Hummus is very much a personal taste thing. Even now, I’ll not stick totally to the recipe, but rather taste as I add.

Ingredients
1 x 400g tin of chick peas
1 clove of garlic (grated or crushed)
2 – 3 tbsp oil
2 – 3 tbsp lemon juice
2 heaped tsp tahini paste (not all supermarkets sell this but it’s easily made )
1 heaped tsp smoked paprika (optional)
Salt & pepper to taste

Method
Boil chick peas for 10 minutes. Drain and rinse well with cold water to cool down. If you’re using  decent brand name such as Napolini then you don’t need to cook them, just keep a little of the liquid from the tin to put in the processor with the chick peas.

Place in a food processor and set to a steady pulse. Add the garlic, tahini, oil, lemon juice and pepper slowly and keep tasting, adjusting if necessary. Periodically, using a silicone spatula, scrape off the hummus from the sides of the container so it’s thoroughly combined with the rest. If it’s a little stiff,  then add some more oil or lemon juice.

Put into a container. It keeps for around 4 – 6 days (however it never lasts that long in this house).

image

In the photo I served it with Bier Rocks. (It goes spectacularly well with them).

3 responses to “Cooking: Hummus

  1. Pingback: Cooking: Hummus patties | tumbleweeding·

  2. Pingback: Cooking: Vegetable Pakora | tumbleweeding·

  3. Pingback: Cooking: Smoked Paprika Pork kebabs | tumbleweeding·

Comments are closed.