A Spot of Indoor Gardening

I’m not much of a gardener,  I have no idea what I’m doing. However I think I know know enough to keep a few indoor plants ticking along.

image

I found some seeds at the end if an aubergine,  so I rescued some and planted them in a small pot (I topped this pot up with more compost).

image

My mint plant was exploding and in great need of a pruning so I took a couple of small cuttings in the hope they’ll take.

image

So I ended up making small green-houses using straws and clingfilm over the mint cutting and aubergine seeds.

image

The pepper plant I bought a few weeks ago seems to be shooting up. I’ve had a couple of the flowers bloom and there’s more and more little buds appearing each day. Fingers crossed I’ll get some cute tiny peppers.

image

Sadly the basil I had has suffered drastically in this bout of ultra warm heat we’ve had. I don’t think I got the pattern of feeding it right. It withered then recovered too many times and finally it just died. I’m starting again  so hopefully this one will last longer.

image

And finally meet Percy the Poinsettia. He’ll be 4 this year. He’s only ever had red leaves that first Christmas I bought him. He’s getting somewhat adventurous with his spreading out.

image

I’ve done a tentative pruning of one branch to see how he fares (I really don’t want to kill him as I’ve never had a poinsettia last this long!).Ive planted the cutting on the off chance it’ll take and we get a baby Percy. If anyone has any tips about taking care of Poinsettias and how to get some of the red back,  I’ll be most appreciative to hear them.

Copyright ©2015 All rights reserved. These photographs and article may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold,  claimed or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

