I’ve Just Finished Reading:To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

image

This is a book I’ve read many times. I first read it when I was around 13 or 14 years old. It immediately affected me and I fell in love with it. I decided to read it after I had read Go Set A Watchman, to see the evolution of one of the most loved books in literature.

When Go Set A Watchman was released,  a lot of people vowed never to read it after the news of Atticus Finch being a racist –  a view I didn’t hold incidentally. Reading the relevant conversations between Scout,  Atticus and his brother, Dr Finch. I was left with a strong feeling that there was more to Atticus’s ‘racism’ than we are lead to believe (and I had re read the chapters 3 times). Because of that,  it didn’t spoil Mockingbird at all.

To Kill a Mockingbird tells the tale of Scout,  her brother Jem, their friend Dill and the court case of Jim Robinson,  a PoC accused of raping a white girl. The descriptions of lazy summer holidays,  a small town, children’s adventures and games,  all strike a chord and remind you of what it was like to be a child.

During the trial, you’re there. You feel the excitement, the terror, the indignation of injustice. The passage where Dill Jason to leave the court in tears of his outrage of Jim being called ‘boy’  is incredible.

It’s heart breaking, poignant, moving, funny and basically everything you would want from a book. Beautifully written, elegant and understated, this is a book that needs to be in everyone’s library. I re read it and fell in love all over again.

Waterstones link to a beautiful copy based on the original book (I NEED this copy!)

Copyright ©2015 All rights reserved. This photograph and article may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold,  claimed or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

One response to “I’ve Just Finished Reading:To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Comments are closed.