Charity shop treasure: Reader’s Digest Book of British Birds

image

I was in my favourite charity shop today and I found this on the shelf. It was there a week ago. I’ve wanted a bird guide for a while as the child and I go on a lot of nature walks and I thought it would be a nice book to have. However I wasn’t feeling well and I dithered about whether to get it as I had a lot of shopping and I didn’t want the extra weight. When I saw it today I instantly grabbed it and bought it for the princely sum of £2.

However I hadn’t realised what the book actually was. I was looking through it when I got home and noticed that this illustration…

image

looked awfully familiar. Then I turned a few more pages and saw this illustration

image

and instantly recognised it from a book of my childhood. I closed the book and looked carefully and saw that it was a Reader’s Digest publication. I quickly removed the cover and squealed with joy.

image

My parents had this book and when I was little I used to love looking through it. I even used to get my paints out and copy the illustrations. I even remember vividly copying this one

image

I’m so delighted that I’ve got a copy of this delightful book and can’t wait to go through it properly :mrgreen:

Copyright ©2015 All rights reserved. These photographs and article may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold,  claimed or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

