Baking: Baked Cheesecake

This is the first joint baking blog with my mum contributing to the recipe! We spent 2 days making food for the wedding, Thursday being dessert day. One of the desserts was a baked cheesecake from a much loved and used Nigella Lawson book called How To Be A Domestic Goddess.

It’s a firm family favourite (especially the child’s – he goes nuts over it). However it’s not made often as it’s highly fattening and something I can see us sickening ourselves of. I rarely make firm favourites often for that very reason. It happened with sushi (yes it’s possible lol) and I learned early on, if you REALLY like a food, don’t make it too often. So, I bring you a fattening, high calorie delight. Make sparingly throughout the year if you can resist!

Ingredients for the base

150g digestive biscuits (if you’re American, I think these are called Graham Crackers)
75g unsalted butter, melted or very soft

Ingredients for the filling

600g cream cheese
150g caster sugar
3 large eggs
3 large egg yolks
1 1/2 tbsps vanilla extract
1 1/2 tbsp lemon juice

Ingredients for topping

145ml tub of sour cream
1 tbsp caster sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Method

In a food processor (or in a plastic bag bashing with a rolling pin) blitz the biscuits. Don’t over blitz though. In the book it says until you get crumbs, but my mum does it so there’s different sizes of chunks/crumbs as it leads to a better texture. Combine with the butter. Line the bottom of the tin and and press the biscuit mix in with your hands or the back of a spoon. Put in the fridge to set and preheat the oven at 180 C or gm 4.

20150820_092741

Beat the cream cheese gently until it’s smooth then add the sugar, then the eggs and egg yolks and finally the vanilla and lemon juice.(Yes that is a Kitchen Aid in the photo. I’m a huge fan of them and getting to use my mums just made me covet it even more – they’re amazing)

20150820_092904 20150820_092949

Line the outside of the tin with strong foil using a couple of sheets (my mum also puts a sheet of greaseproof paper on as well see photograph) then put it into a roasting dish, this will protect the cheesecake from the water as it’s cooked in the water bath.

Pour the cream cheese filling onto the biscuit base then pour hot water from the kettle into the roasting tin around the cake tin – around halfway up the cake tin. Don’t overfill as it will be too heavy to lift. Cook for 50 mins. It should feel set, but not rigidly so. My mum showed me a trick of gently shaking the tin – it wobbled like firm jelly.

20150820_102433

Whisk the sour cream, sugar and vanilla for the topping then pour over the cheesecake and cook for another 10 minutes. Take the roasting tin out of the oven and carefully remove the cake tin and stand on a cooling tray to cool down. When it’s cooled down completely put in the fridge and remove 20 mins before eating. Don’t remove it from the tin until you’re ready to eat.

20150820_103940

Sadly, I didn’t get to take a photo of it looking all pretty and sliced on a plate as I normally do, but you’ll forgive me when I say I had other things happening that took precedence!

Hope you enjoy eating it – it’s flipping lovely.

Copyright ©2015 All rights reserved. These photographs and article may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold,  claimed or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

One response to “Baking: Baked Cheesecake

  1. I LOVE baked cheesecake! Excellent recipes and so cool that you’re collaborating with your mom!

Comments are closed.