A little night photography

As you may have seen in past posts, I’ve had a go at taking photographs of the moon with not bad results. Last night’s super moon/harvest moon/lunar eclipse was too good an opportunity to miss.

I went out early on to see if I could get a good shot of the moon  but sadly the sky had a thin layer of cloud. So I could only get this shot

image

Not the worst but definitely not the best I’ve taken. So I got up at 2.15 am to try my luck. The next shot was a little better.

image

As you can see,  I managed to get a half decent shot of the moon  in partial eclipse. Then while waiting to see if it would turn orange,  I started mucking around with the exposure settings. I pointed the camera at a section of the sky that the Seven Sisters was in and managed to get this shot:

image

For my first ever attempt,  I was pretty pleased. I then decided to see if I could get a shot of Orion

image

Again, I was incredibly pleased given the light pollution! Then I noticed the moon was in totality so I pointed the camera at it. Yes the moon wasn’t in sharp focus,  but I’m so proud of the shot I managed to get…

image

A beautiful orange moon complete with stars! 

I could have stayed out all night but had to get up early so I reluctantly put the camera away. But I’m definitely more inspired to play around with night photography even more now.

Copyright ©2015 All rights reserved. This article and photographs may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold,  claimed or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

