I’ve just finished finished reading: Attention All Shipping by Charlie Connelly

image

Ever since I heard the shipping forecast as a kid,  I have been enthralled by it.  There a soothing quality to it,  especially if you listen to the midnight edition. Tucked up in bed, imagining these desolate places, windswept and interesting. I’ve always had a vague thought of visiting these places and when I saw this book I seized it immediately.

It didn’t disappoint. It’s well written and humorous,  full of interesting facts and descriptions of these places. It makes you want to recreate the journey and experience it for yourself. Connelly also includes a brief family history as the reason for doing this venture and to say that the stories of his ancestor, Harry are hilarious.

I’d definitely recommend this book, even if you have no interest whatsoever in the Shipping Forecast. It’s a well written, warm book.

Copyright ©2015 All rights reserved. This photograph may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold,  claimed or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

