Cooking: Lamb Curry

I’ve never been a fan of lamb – it’s a texture thing – however I do like the taste of it and a while ago I had an urge for lamb. I made a tagine using a Hairy Biker’s recipe and it wasn’t too bad (although it was too watery and not spicy enough so I’ll have to have a go at my own and will blog the results later). So then I tried a curry and thoroughly enjoyed it. Then a couple of weekends ago, I made another lamb curry and this time, I was blown away by the results. I don’t quite know why this tasted as good as it did, but I’m glad I remembered to jot down what I was putting into it. We’ll definitely be having this again.

Please note, that the level of heat for this isn’t particularly hot. It has a nice warmth to it but if you like your curries to have a definite heat then I’d recommend flinging in some Birds Eye chillies into the pan.

Ingredients
450g diced lamb
2 onions, finely chopped
1 small courgette, chopped
6 – 8 large mushrooms, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
2 tsp cumin seeds
3 large cardamom pods
2 heaped tsp ground coriander or coriander seeds
1 tsp peppercorns
1 tsp of ground ginger
4 heaped tsp medium curry powder
1 tbsp of hot sauce (I used Reggae Reggae)
2 lamb Oxo cubes
1 tbsp tomato puree
1 tin/carton chopped tomatoes
1 bayleaf

Method

image

Fry the onions over a low heat until soft and translucent. Then add the courgettes and fry for another 2-3 mins. Then add the mushrooms and fry for another 2-3 mins. Then add the garlic and fry for another minute. Remove from pan.

image

Add the lamb to the pan and brown. Then add the vegetables back to the pan with the lamb. Cook for another few mins. While the lamb and vegetables are cooking, grind all the spices in a pestle & mortar. Mix in the ground spices and then add to the ingredients in the pan. Combine thoroughly and cook for 2-3 mins, stirring constantly, to release the flavours of the spices. Then crumble the Oxo cubes and combine thoroughly. Add the tomatoes, puree and hot sauce. Combine thoroughly. Add the bay leaf, cover, bring to the boil and simmer for 45 mins, stirring occasionally.  The curry should have thickened considerably and reduced down.

image

You’ll either get 2 generous servings with Indian breads and nibbles, or 4 if rice is included. Freezes well.

Copyright ©2015 All rights reserved. These photographs and article may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold,  claimed or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

