Cooking: Vegetable Pakora

We love what we call, Indian nibble food – pakora,  bhaji, samosas and the breads etc. True to form,  I  always like to have a go at making them myself. Last Saturday I thought I’d give pakora a go. In the past whenever I tried to make bhajis, they never quite tasted right. It was only when I was getting the flour from the cupboard that I remembered I had gram flour. I used that in the dough and these came out beautifully. Not bad for my first ever attempt at them,  making it up as I went along – these were a “use up past their best veg before the food shop” recipe.

Ingredients
125g gram flour
25g self raising flour
4-5 large leaves of savoy cabbage,  finely chopped.
1 leek,  finely chopped
1 spring onion,  finely chopped
1 garlic clove,  finely chopped
1 egg,  beaten
2 tsp coriander
2 tsp cumin
A large pinch of salt and pepper
Water
Oil

Method
Boil the cabbage leaves for 2-3 mins then drain.

image

Heat up some oil in a deep frying pan and fry off the leeks and spring onions for 3-4 mins on a low heat,  until soft amd translucent. Add the drained cabbage and garlic and fry for another 2-3 mins.

In a bowl,  sift the two flours and add the spices and seasoning. Then add the vegetables and combine until they’re coated in the flour mixture.

image

Then add the egg and gradually add water until you get a very sticky dough (be warned,  gram flour becomes ridiculously sticky).

Heat up some oil in the pan until very hot. Add spoonfuls of mix to the oil. Fry for 10-15 mins turning occasionally, until golden brown.

image

Drain in some kitchen roll and serve with a curry and pickles

They freeze well and any leftovers, warm them up and put them in a wrap with some hummus – it’s a glorious combination.

Copyright ©2015 All rights reserved. These photographs and article may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold,  claimed or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

