Cooking: Toad In The Hole

For those of you who aren’t British (I know I have a few American and Canadian followers), this is a classic dish often falling under the umbrella of that great British institution otherwise known as The Sunday Dinner. It’s sausages cooked in a Yorkshire pudding batter and when done well is heaven on a plate.

I’ve a love hate relationship with Yorkshire Puddings. They’re a must have in a Sunday Dinner, but I’ve always ruined them by cooking them for too long. I think it’s a combination of having too little oil in the tray and it not being hot enough when I’ve poured the batter in. This always leads to me having to scrape the pudding off the tray! This time, they cooked as perfectly as I’ve ever had them.

Yorkshire puddings are a personal taste. Some like them cooked crispy all over, some like them fluffy, I like them crispy round the edges, turning fluffy and with a tiny bit of stodge to them on the bottom. This is exactly how I managed to get them the other week. If you like them crispier, then leave them in the oven for 2-3 mins longer. The only tip I can give you is to leave it in the oven without opening the door for a minimum of 20 mins. Give them a chance to cook and rise.

Ingredients
8 sausages
3 heaped tbsp plain flour
Pinch of salt
1 large egg, beaten
150ml full fat milk
oil or fat
Roasting tin 22-24cm
Method
Preheat the oven to 200C/Gas mark 6.

Prick the skins of the sausages and fry them over a low heat, turning occasionally until browned all over and hopefully you’ll have a substantial amount of sausage fat in the frying pan. Place the sausages in a roasting tray and pour in the sausage fat. You’ll most likely need more fat to add to the tray. I added 2 more teaspoons of additional sausage fat on top of the sausage fat already poured in.

image

As an aside, what I do is every time I cook sausages, I pour the fat from them into a jam jar and use it when I want to give something an extra boost of flavour. A pretty handy tip from the fabulous Jack Monroe.

Place the tray in the oven (leave for 5 – 10 mins until the fat is smoking hot) and make the Yorkshire Pudding batter.

Put all the ingredients into a jug and combine with a whisk until you have a batter resembling single cream (you may need to add more milk if it’s too thick).

image

Then when the oil is hot enough, remove from oven and pour in the batter around the sausages, making sure it’s evenly distributed.

image

Return to oven and cook for 20-25 mins (checking after 20). It should have risen nicely and be a golden colour.

image

Serve with the usual Sunday Dinner accompaniments!

Copyright ©2015 All rights reserved. These photographs and article may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold,  claimed or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

