Cooking: Leek and Potato soup

This is one of my mum’s recipes. It’s a firm favourite from childhood and is part of one of my favourite childhood food memories. One bad winter’s day, I travelled home from school during a bad snow blizzard and when I got home, I was freezing and very damp. I got home and the house was filled with the smells of freshly baked bread and soup. I was told to go and get changed into dry clothes and when I came back downstairs, I was greeted with the sight of a bowl of soup and a warm bread roll which I ate by the fire!

I introduced this recipe to my small family as a means of making vegetables palatable to a small boy and it worked. To the extent that if asked to choose between homemade pizza and leek and potato soup, the kidlet will choose the soup! It’s very easy to make (as most soups are), and provides any small people who happen to be around, with an intense but tasty vegetable hit.

Ingredients
3 leeks, finely chopped
1 large onion, finely chopped
3-4 medium sized potatoes, diced
1 stick of celery, finely chopped
4 heaped teaspoons of vegetable bouillon powder or 2 chicken stockpots

image

Method
Fry the onions and leeks in oil until translucent. Then add the celery. Fry until soft. Then add the potatoes and bouillon powder/stock pot. Stir in until all the vegetables are coated. Then pour in the water. Cover, bring to the boil then simmer for 30-40 mins.

Transfer soup to a food processor/blender/using a stick blender, whizz the soup until all the vegetables are blended. Return to the pan and heat through.

Serve with warm bread or our favourite soup accompaniment – cheese scones.

Copyright ©2015 All rights reserved. These photographs and article may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold,  claimed or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

