Cooking: Bolegnese

This was never a thing that I was keen on – I’d eat it but it wasn’t my favourite thing. Now however, I love the stuff and I try not to make it too often as I know I’d end up sickening myself of it.

In this recipe, as with the chilli, you’ll notice coldbrew is present. Now I know Sainsbury’s has come under fire for suggesting putting coffee in bolegnese. However in my opinion,  the snarky comments are mainly from people who are afraid to improvise in food. Like chocolate in chilli, you can’t actually taste the ingredient. If you can, you’ve put too much in. Chocolate and coffee used as seasoning adds umami to food. You get a lovely hit of savoury flooding your mouth. Ignore the sceptics and try it.

Ingredients
750g mince (I use pork but beef, turkey or vegetarian mince will work as well)
1 large onion, finely chopped
1 stick of celery, finely chopped
3 oz mushrooms, finely chopped
1 small courgette, finely chopped
1 large clove of garlic, finely chopped
2 tins of chopped tomatoes
1 tbsp tomato puree
2 tbsp coldbrew or 1 tsp instant coffee
2 heaped tsp dried mixed herbs
1 beef stockpot
1 heaped tsp vegetable bouillon powder
2 tbsp Lea & Perrins
salt and pepper to taste.

Method
Fry the onions and celery until soft and translucent. Add the courgette and mushrooms, frying for a 2-3 mins. Then add the garlic. Fry for another minute. Then add the mince and brown in the pan, mixing in thoroughly. Add the beef stock pot and make sure it melts and coats the mince. Then add the tomatoes, puree, herbs, Lea & Perrins, coldbrew and bouillon powder. Stir well, bring to the boil then cover and simmer for 40-50 mins, stirring occasionally.

image

Your sauce should have thickened and reduced down by roughly a quarter.

Season to taste – although you may not need it. I add salt and freshly ground pepper (using a pestle and mortar) when I add the herbs. It’s nearly always not needed any extra.

image

Serve with pasta. It also freezes very well.

Copyright ©2015 All rights reserved. These photographs and article may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold,  claimed or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

