Baking: Decadent and Deadly Red Velvet with a Rolo

This cake is not for the faint hearted. It’s ridiculously calorific, vastly sickly sweet and intense and you only need a small slice to feel sated after a cake craving. This is one that I’ll only make once, maybe twice a year. I’ve yet to actually make a red velvet cake from scratch as I’ve found that the Betty Crocker cake mix is lovely. One day, I’ll get around to making one, I just need to find a reliable recipe. Until then, I’ll rely on Betty Crocker.

Ingredients
Betty Crocker Red Velvet cake mix (+ 3 medium eggs, 7tbsp oil, 200ml water)
Sweetened condensed milk (397ml tin)
50g brown sugar
50g butter
Icing sugar. cocoa powder and butter for icing.

Method
Bake the red velvet cake mix according to the packet instructions and allow to cool.
While the cake is in the oven, in a saucepan, pour in the condensed milk, 5og butter & 50g brown sugar. Stir thoroughly, bring to the boil and simmer for 5 mins or so, until thick and darkened in colour. Remove from the heat and allow to cool, stirring occasionally.
To make the icing, put some butter, cocoa and icing sugar into a bowl and whisk together. I never use measurements for this, I go mostly by taste. Once you get the right taste, add a heaped tablespoon of the caramel and whisk in.

one to upload
Once the cake and caramel sauce has cooled, put one sponge on a plate. Spread some of the caramel onto the sponge.

1458040634654

Then pipe some of the caramel chocolate icing on top of the sponge & caramel.

Then put the other sponge on top and spread the remaining caramel on top. Then decorate however you like, and top with the Rolos.

1458040470449

The butter I used was a bit too soft, so I had to hurriedly take a photo before the Rolos started to slip off! My decorating skills aren’t strong and considering I had sliced my thumb open on a brand new food processor blade earlier, I don’t think I did too badly! – However it does look like it’s time travelled from the seventies.

Copyright ©2016 All rights reserved. These photographs and article may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold,  claimed or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

