I’ve just finished reading: How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran (2011)

image

I’ve always been a fan of Moran’s,  ever since I was a teenager, reading her column in my parents Saturday Times. I idolised her and thought she was the coolest thing second only to my discovery of the first pair Doctor Martens I ever owned (steel toe capped).

I’m ashamed to admit that it’s only now I’ve gotten round to reading her books. This one has been on my “to read” pile, for an embarrassing amount of time. But yesterday morning I picked it up,  and finished it last night with the resolution to buy all her books asap.

My first and overwhelming thought throughout this book, was how much my 13/14 year old self would’ve appreciated it. This book would have been my life guide,  as everything Moran writes about re growing up,  I was laughing with tears in my eyes in recognition.

The book is poignant, funny, heart warming, heart breaking, painful and embarrassing (as you compare your teenage years with hers and find they’re startlingly similar). It’s a book that makes me want to buy a ton of copies and thrust it into the hands of parents with teenage daughters, with exclamations of “give her this to read!” Moran accurately portrays teenage life and juxtaposes adulthood with each problem posed. While it’s fascinating for adults to read (whilst nodding heads with recognition at collective teenage angst), I can’t help but feel young teenagers will get a hell of a lot out of it as well.

I genuinely can’t recommend it enough and I’m excited at the thought that I have more of her to read.

Copyright ©2016 All rights reserved. This article and photograph may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold,  claimed or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

One response to “I’ve just finished reading: How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran (2011)

  1. I agree with your point about 13/14 year olds reading this! It’s so accessible in that way. Anything to stop our younger sisters worrying about what others think of them and focusing on their own potential instead! Bronte

Comments are closed.