Cooking: Vietnamese Style Chicken

This is another from the Hairy Bikers Curry book (seriously, you need to get a copy – it’s wonderful). They’re very moreish and go well in a wrap with salads the following day. I’ve put some notes in the recipe.

Ingredients
4 chicken breasts
4 garlic cloves
2 shallots (or 1 onion, roughly chopped as I didn’t have shallots)
1 lemon grass stalk, finely chopped (or 2 heaped tsp of lemon grass paste – for me it’s easier to get a hold of than actual lemongrass)
2 birds eye chillies, trimmed and thickly sliced (or 3 normal red chillies as we don’t like too much heat)
1 tbsp Thai Fish Sauce (nam pla)
1 tsp dark soy sauce (I used 1 tbsp)
2 tbsp brown sugar
1 tsp sunflower oil

Method
Put all of the ingredients except the chicken, into a processor and blitz until you have a smoothish paste.

image

Put chicken breasts into a dish, slash the tops several times and coat with marinade and cover with cling film. Leave between 30mins – 8 hours. I left it for 5 hours.

Line a grill ban or baking tray and put a wire rack on top (I use a cooling rack). Place the chicken on the rack. Cook under grill for 6-8 mins. I found that wasn’t anywhere near enough time and cooked it for 15 – 20 mins (but keep an eye on it) then turn. I coated it with some of the remaining marinade and cook for another 15 mins.  Keep checking until the chicken is nicely scorched, charred and thoroughly cooked.

image

Serve with an Indian bread (we had Keralan Parathas and I whipped up a basic but tasty vegetable curry that was almost like a warm chutney – I’ll blog the recipe soon)

Copyright ©2016 All rights reserved. These photographs and notes may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold,  claimed or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission

