Knitting: Double Cable

2 years ago I started knitting. It took a while to get used to it, and over the past 2 years, I’ve been slowly teaching myself different stitches from various books and YouTube tutorials (Studio Knit is my favourite). I’ve always tried to avoid cable knit as it frightened me, but a couple of days ago, I decided to bite the bullet and have a go.

Using this Studio Knit tutorial, I found it extremely easy and quickly got the hang of it.

So now I’d like to share the Double Cable stitch. It’s very easy, very simple and very quick to do.

For symmetry cast on in multiples of 17 + 5 plus 1 edge stitch each side.

C12F = slip 6 onto cable needle, hold in front. Knit 6 from left needle and knit 6 from cable needle

C6F = slip 3 onto cable needle, hold in front. Knit 3 from left needle and knit 3 from cable needle.

( )   repeat stitches in between brackets
R1  K1,(P5,K12),P4,K1
R2  P1,(K5,P12),K4,P1
R3  K1,(P5,K12),P4,K1
R4  P1,(K5,P12),K4,P1
R5  K1,(P5,C12F),P5,K1
R6  P1,(K5,P12),K5,P1
R7  K1,(P5,K12),P5,K1
R8  P1,(K5,P12),K5,P1
R9  K1,(P5,K12),P5,K1
R10  K1,K5,(P3,C6F,P3,K5),K1

Please feel free to join in the discussion!

