Culinary Journey: Cake

Despite loving cakes, I could never bake them properly. They always had a sticky outer texture to them and always sank in the middle. I had no idea where I was going wrong until visit to my parents during the Easter holidays. I realised I had kept making 2 mistakes repeatedly. Instead of a butter substitute (forget Flora Buttery, they lie on the packaging) use actual butter, and get shallower cake tins.

Ingredients

6oz self raising flour

6oz sugar

6oz butter

3 eggs

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

Pinch of salt

Method

Whisk together sugar and butter until pale and fluffy.

Sift together flour, salt and baking powder. Add to the sugar and butter. Add eggs one at a time until everything is combined then add the vanilla. Divide into to 8″ shallow cake tins and bake at gm 4/180°C for 25-30 mins (although its entirely dependent on your oven, cakes take 18-20 mins in mine). Cupcakes will take around 15mins.

Sandwich together with filling of your choice (I chose blackcurrant jam and a thin layer of buttercream icing) and sift icing sugar over the top.


Copyright ©2018 All rights reserved. This article & any photographs may be linked to but may not be posted, used, copied, sold, claimed or reproduced elsewhere without this owners permission